The POETIC EXPRESS at 25

Every month since April 1985, I’ve put out a poetry sheet entitled The Poetic Express.  I can hardly believe that I’ve sustained this for a quarter century!

I’m sure I’ll keep on putting it out for the rest of my life.  I think I’ll celebrate this in a number of ways.  These will include a few blog posts (reminiscing on my poetic ways and these photo-copied manifestations).

It was partly a reaction to/in revolt against “normal poetry” scenes and publications.  Despite appearing in a few anthologies, I’ve always been an outsider in ways, in my “poetic sensibility.”  Yet I try to be accessible and (hopefully) of interest to those who would take the time.  Thanks to all my readers and supporters, over the years.

There have been times where I only did one page a month.  Usually though, it’s been two pages every month, one with the SURREAL THEATRE comic strip and one without it.

The first twenty years are at my (recently revamped) archives site at the University of Detroit Mercy library portal:

http://research.udmercy.edu/find/special_collections/digital/greenia/index.php

I’d written on it a bit before, in my adventurous research blog:

http://maugre22.wordpress.com/2009/04/08/the-poetic-express/

4 Responses to “The POETIC EXPRESS at 25”

  1. leslie Says:

    In honor of this 25th birthday, a quote:
    “One day while studying a Yeats poem I decided to write poetry for the rest of my life. I recognized that a single short poem has room for history, music, psychology, religious thought, mood, occult speculation, character, and the events of one’s own life. I still feel surprised that such various substances can find shelter and nourishment in a poem. A poem in fact may be a sort of nourishing liquid, such as one uses to keep an amoeba alive. If prepared right, a poem can keep an image or a thought or insights in history or the psyche alive for years, as well as our desires and airy impulses.” – Robert Bly

  2. My recent Poetry reading at Detroit’s Scarab Club « for art and artists Says:

    […] https://artremedy20.wordpress.com/2010/04/08/the-poetic-express-at-25/ […]

  3. The Poetic Express in Context: 1985 to 2015 | for art and artists Says:

    […] https://artremedy20.wordpress.com/2010/04/08/the-poetic-express-at-25/ […]

  4. artremedy20 Says:

    Yes it was 25 years old, now it’s 30 years old, and counting….

Leave a Reply

