Caged Art

This is another old typewritten arts statement featuring a quote from Octavio Paz.  Is art (being in museums and galleries) sometimes similar to animals being confined in zoos.  What is the future of wild art?  Of untamed art?

I remember being scolded for “not having a drawing permit” while in a museum.  They thought I was copying or sketching “their art” while really I was creating my own, out of myself.

Here’s that statement.  Read as is or click on it to enlarge it:

Leave a Reply

