Back in my Life Again

My father and I, early on

My father and I, early on

Before this year ends, I’ll turn 60.  It’s really hard to believe in ways.  There’s been a lot of water under the bridge.  Ah yes, the times that we have seen.

I was looking through old photos today, back when I was a baby or a child or a young man.  If I hang in there,  I’ll be looking at photos of myself as I am today, maybe in the year 2040 or so.

All the parts of life hang together.  They touch each other and tell each other secrets.  To be alive: that’s the key (and there lies the rub).  To exist is not enough.  Some us attempt to transcend, to go for the gusto.

With my Grandpa Greenia and my dad, Christmas 1953

With my Grandpa Greenia and my dad, Christmas 1953

With my Grandpa White, singing.

With my Grandpa White, singing.

“Artists are not made; they are born…there is very little you can do for them.”  Louise Bourgeois (in the film ART CITY)

From the get-go, it seems that I was an artist, an artist of some sort.  I just ran across this quotation this week.  Many people are different but some are more different than others.

With my brother Dennis and my Teddy Bear

With my brother Dennis and my Teddy Bear

ABC: Always being creative!  I look at my childhood drawings and paintings and they’re quite good, of kind.  Jacques Karamanoukian saw them and kidded me “Maurice, what happened?  You were so good!”  Yet I didn’t really get serious about making visual art until I was 23 or 24.  Since then, I’ve made up for lost time.

I write and do performances too.  I’m in two or three musical groups or bands.  Then I do puppet shows, at least a few a year.

Brooklyn Bridge 1990

Brooklyn Bridge 1990

Yes art is a way of life.  I want art to wake people up and change their lives.  Many people see art as “watered down” by definition.  They look at it like it’s some sort “candy” or “wallpaper.”

Yet I know that it can shake people to their core.  It can make you see life and the world in a whole new way.  People have told me that my work’s helped them get through some tough times.  That means more than a prize or an award.  It’s nice to get paid, at least some of the time.  Yet there are different ways to get paid.

It’s not all about the money or fame.  A lot of it’s about love, imagination, dreams, magic and (if you will) revolution.  It’s world-changing time!  I just want to try to shake things up a bit and cause some trouble while I’m here.  Onward!

Flint, Mchigan (May 2013)

Flint, Michigan (May 2013)

 

Leave a Reply

